reader’s bloc 2009 humdinger mayo edition

copying what  Jessica Zafra’s readers bloc series.. http://jessicarulestheuniverse.com/2009/11/27/my-year-in-books-2/

my list:

Kafka on the Shore – Haruki Murakami

Native Son – Richard Wright

Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins

the brief and wondrous life of oscar wao – Junot Diaz

Beyond Assasinations – Aravind Adiga

The Metamorphosis – Franz Kafka

3 Responses to “reader’s bloc 2009 humdinger mayo edition”

  1. I’m reading the Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman short story collection by Murakami right now, but I do want to get around to reading Kafka on the Shore at some point (already read Norwegian Wood, parts of which I absolutely loved, but not sure if I loved the whole). Speaking of which, I see that Kafka is on your list, as well. Native Son would be a great book in any year.

  2. humdingercrazy Says:

    Hi Literary Dreamer,
    I love reading your blog… Hope your book will become a success…that’s one of my goals as well.. to write a novel
    Please tell me what you think of Blind Willow once you’re done reading it
    I really enjoyed and love Kafka on the Shore… that book introduced me to Franz Kafka and made me love reading more…

    • Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman is composed of many good stories and some incredible ones. My favorites: “Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman,” “A Folklore for My Generation: A Pre-History of Late Stage Capitalism,” “Tony Takitani” (maybe my favorite of the entire collection), and “The Kidney-Shaped Stone That Moves Every Day” (there may be more, but those are the ones that stuck out the most for me). I also believe I really liked “Crabs” and “Hanalei Bay.” Definitely worth searching for in your local library, but whether you’d want to buy the collection depends on how much you love Murakami. There are certainly no bad stories, though some fall just short of being stellar (and then, of course, there are some that are stellar).

      Also, I’m glad that you enjoy reading my blog, and your kind words about my is-this-the-year-I-finish-it? novel. When you decide to write your novel, please let me know, and feel free to bug me for advice or just moral support while you’re in the act of writing it.

Leave a Reply

